The Women's Society of Christian Service as seen in this photo from 1950. From approximately 1919 to 1947 the group was called "Ladies Aid." In 1973 WSCS changed its name to "Hazard United Methodist Women."

Since 1943, the following have served as President: Edith Anderson, Lucille Criffield, Galdys Erazim, Lorna Aden, Edith Anderson (2nd time), Mildred Roberts, Mildred Standage, Vivian Hawley, Faye Voth, Jennie Roeder, Donna Lammers, Joyce Criffield, Glenda Leithoff, and Helen Szwanek. At present, Marlene Rasmussen serves as President. From the early 1900s to present this organization has continued its vital role in sustaining the church as well as helping areas residents in need.

Seated, left to right: Ola Criffield, Ella Capellen, Mildred Stark, Bea Rasmussen, Jenny Roeder, Gladys Erazim, Kate Hawley, Mildred Hughes, Vivian Hawley, Ione Wright.
Standing: Mildred Roberts, Sophia Moomey, Mable Asher, Lydia Pavlik, Pauline Roeder, Lennie Krous, Edith Anderson, Bessie Davis, Ethel Peterson, Elvena Gray, Lorna Aden, Vera Johnson, Mildred Standage, Mildred Trumble, Buelah Sigler, Velma Stewart, Agnes Capellen, Virginia Moomey.
Photo of Women's Society of Christian Service

Hazard Methodist Church | Home